Archive for June, 2014

the forbidden library

Apparently Wexler’s previous work was a series of sprawling fantasy doorstops called “The Shadow Campaigns” which I am not familiar with. This is a quite different beast, a fantasy novel with a historical setting for older children and younger young adults, and is consequently much shorter and more tightly written. For both of which we can be thankful!

 His clever trick to establish the period of the setting worked for me, having his characters discussing newspaper articles about earthquakes in New Zealand and Managua, and a war in Spain, although I question whether a younger audience would get it. But then our young heroine discovers the hidden magic in her world and the fun starts.

 I have to say that Wexler’s take on libriomancy works really well, better than I’ve come across before in many ways. His heroine, Alice, is well-realised, though I have my doubts about some of the supporting cast, whose motives are a bit obscure. I do think the choice of name was unwise – we already have our Alice; and we must blame the publisher for the blurb, which is so over-blown that it’s truly off-putting.

 However, overall not a bad read, enjoyable by both children and adults; and with some truly memorable images, like the swarm and the evil wasp fairy! Oh, and there is a talking cat with plenty of cattitude… and it’s all set up for a sequel.

Doubleday

Supplied by Random House New Zealand

Reviewed by Jacqui

the forever watch

On a generation ship, hundreds of years into a thousand year voyage, people are dying, in a very messy fashion. And Hana Dempsey, office worker in City Planning, wants to find the killer… That’s how it starts. But that’s by no means the only mystery aboard the Noah, and as Hana delves deeper, there are more and more secrets.

This book has a plot layered like an onion with enigma upon enigma… There is plenty of action, a healthy dose of noir, and a frisson of horror, but this is primarily science fiction, and would count as hard SF if it wasn’t for the heavy dose of psi. Unusually, it is written in the first person present tense, which did take a bit of getting used to. Ramirez writes skilfully and in the main, believably. A few times he pushes the psi powers a bit too far, and I’m not entirely sure about his biology, but I’m not that much of an expert in the field so I’ll let it go.

I suspect that most readers will find “The Forever Watch” an engaging, but disturbing read… the questions it asks about the balance between freedom and survival will stay with me for quite a while.

Hodder & Stoughton

Supplied by Hatchette New Zealand

Reviewed by Jacqui

cradleto grave coverWho can you trust?

Accused of murdering the baby in her care, seemingly cold and measured nanny Lisa Stewart maintains her innocence. But when she changes her name and tries to flee, terrifying threats continue to follow her. Is she an innocent victim of public anger–or a calculating murderer on the run? Can Detective Marjory Fleming, dogged by her own past, uncover the truth?

This psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Susan Hill.

Add to Goodreads

 Amazon Barnes & Noble

 About the Author

AlineAuthor Picture


Aline Templeton grew up in the fishing village of Anstruther, in the East Neuk of Fife. She has worked in education and broadcasting and was a Justice of the Peace for ten years. Married, with two grown-up children and three grandchildren, she now lives in a house with a view of Edinburgh Castle. When not writing, she enjoys cooking, choral singing, and traveling the back roads of France.

Blog | Goodreads

Giveaway

//giveawaytools2.com/giveaway.php?sk=67067757575

Cradle to Grave Banner

10496990_264946637041979_7162787672179263004_o

“When the odds are stacked against you,

you don’t run and hide.

You step up and give life the middle finger.”

Jo is confident her life is about to spiral out of control and change irrevocably. What she doesn’t expect is just how far her world will tilt. Floundering and confused, she discovers life and love isn’t always knee deep in hearts and flowers. Sometimes, life’s middle finger is pointed firmly in the air.

 Liam never expected perfect, but from the moment he said “I do”, he knew he had it. What he doesn’t expect, is life throwing crapballs the size of Ayres Rock at him! Sometimes, life’s aim is a little too accurate.

 When Mother Nature steps in and throws their world into disarray, Liam and Jo need to decide just how far they’re willing to go to find their perfect love.

Be prepared for the release of A Perfect Love by cuddling up to Becca Lee’s A Perfect Moment, (Perfect #1) in her Perfect Series.

Amazon US ~ Amazon AU ~ Amazon UK ~ Smashwords ~ iTunes ~ B&N

Spending the last few years near the Queensland coast, Becca is rarely out of the sea or off the beach. Dragging her long board with her and her overworked Kindle Fire, Becca enjoys her three addictions: reading, surfing and ogling surfers, one of whom is her husband of ten years.

She can still be found regularly on the beach with her family. Becca tends to leave the surfing to her boys; she’s far too busy immersed in her own writing or, of course, with her head still buried in a new read.

Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Website ~ Twitter 

One Paperback of A Perfect Moment

Two ecopies of A Perfect Moment

Two Swagpacks

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0604f12/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

cop town
Set in downtown Atlanta in the 70s, Maggie Lawson comes from a working class family of cops and has carried on the tradition despite the daily prejudice she faces as a woman in a man’s job. There’s been a shooter killing cops in random for the last six months and Maggie’s brother Jimmy, the golden boy of the force, has just been shot and his partner killed. The good ol’ boys on the force are out for blood and not too worried about due process.

It’s Kate Murphy’s first day as a cop and a steep learning curve for the beautiful blonde from an affluent part of town. Partnered with Jimmy, he quickly ditches her and she teams up with Maggie to find the shooter. Jimmy’s hiding secrets though and they find the murders may not have been so random after all.

This is a stand-alone but I hope it’s not the last we see of Maggie and Kate. They were great characters, showed they were human, and you felt their struggles. Every character was dealing with prejudice, either their own or facing it; sexism, racism, classism, homophobia. The story itself was divided into days, with a tightly woven plot and a lot of action. I was surprised when I found out who the bad guy was and adored the ending of the novel!

Century

Supplied by Random House New Zealand

Reviewed by Jan

Sexy man

Even good girls do bad things.

Seven Dirty Sins

an Erotic Romance Bundle 

Everybody has a dirty little secret, everybody sins.

What’s yours?

Sinful pleasures find their way into your bedroom through seven bestselling authors

including USA Today bestsellers, LP Dover and Ella James in this sizzling anthology.

Whatever your sin may be you’ll find incredible love and lust between the pages of Seven Dirty Sins meeting all of your dirty needs.

After reading Seven Dirty Sins you’re going to have to go to church ladies.

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22494641-seven-dirty-sins?ac=1

Seven Novellas by Seven Sinful Authors.

Pandora’s box will be opened and Seven Dirty will release:

August 13th 2014

relinquish

Release Day!

Book Two in the Lost Souls Series

Regan has a life in Georgia. She is going to school, has managed to make some friends, and has even found a new love interest in Colter. So what happens when she can’t hide what she is anymore? When do all the lies become too much to handle? And how much longer can she hold onto her sanity—while Agro pushes her closer and closer to the edge of no return—her ascension to Elite?

Colter is beautifully oblivious. Wanting so much to believe that Regan is safe, and Agro has been halted, he ignores Finn’s constant skepticism at the risk of their friendship. Overlooking what is so clearly right in front of him, Colter passes off Regan’s outbursts of emotion on her recent trauma. Colter can feel Regan—his one exception to his retribution—slipping out of his arms, but fighting her to stay with him may not be an option.

Colter and Finn are now at odds, and there is a newly formed alliance between Kaiden and Exile Max. Will this group of Collectors be enough to fight off the new enemies and old threats that emerge in the battle for souls when Regan is broken, and their group is on the brink of self-destruction?

The lost will be found, the Collectors will be exiled, and the Elites will reign.

About Book One, Retribution

Regan Edison has just moved from California, to enter her first year at Georgia Liberty College, the place where jacked up Chevy trucks and hunting are a way of life. Regan hopes to start a new life for herself and she thinks that Georgia is just the place to do it. That is until she meets an unexpected stranger.

Colter Hayes is a member of the Collectors, a group of wrongfully punished lost souls. Colter and the rest of his team, Finn, Kaiden and Devon, work for the Requiem Council who pass judgment on those souls that are neither tagged for Heaven nor Hell. The Council has charged the Collectors with finding the lost in exchange for a chance at redemption.

When an ex-councilmember known to pass Retribution on lost souls sets his sights on Regan, the Requiem Council dispatches the Collectors to Georgia to work as protectors for Regan. The Collectors must fight to save Regan from a fate they know all too well, but can they work to earn back their chance at redemption or are their fates sealed forever?

Who is meant for Heaven?
Who is meant for Hell?
And who is just lost?

Start the series for just 99 Cents!

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/ofkj4fh

Smashwords: http://tinyurl.com/luoz5a6
Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/lydhhzr

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

About Amy Thompson


Amy Thompson graduated from college with her B.S. in Biology. She currently works as a high school mentor and has just earned her M.S. in Higher Education. Amy is a self-published author of Retribution, a new adult, paranormal romance novel that is the first in the Lost Souls Trilogy. She lives in Southern Virginia with her family and two lazy cats. Amy Thompson is currently working on the next book in the Lost Souls Trilogy, Relinquish and continues to be an avid reader of all things books.

Website : Facebook : Goodreads

 Relinquish banner